Gold: $2389.99  |  Silver: $28.68
  Monday, 22 August 2016
  5 Replies
  4K Visits
  Subscribe
Please can someone help a few weeks ago came across several morgan dollars at my mums old house anyway this week decided to try and find out their value the one that really has me puzzled is a 1895 Morgan Dollar with no mint mark I have attached 2 scans... When I try and do research this it I believe it to be a Philadelphia 1895 silver dollar but all the pages I read say this doesnt exist so must be a fake?? It is definately silver and doesnt look like the mint mark has been removed, I emailed 2 coin auction houses earlier this afternoon but had no reply as yet, has anyone any idea if this does look real or any help appreciated many thanks
Hi, Nigel!

I am not a professional coin authenticator, but given my nearly 25 years of experience in the numismatic arena, I have reason to believe this piece may be counterfeit or altered due to several diagnostic concerns. The appearance of the date and certain elements of the design look off for the issue. I think the surface also looks rather unusual for a circulated Morgan dollar. These are things that could be better inspected in-hand by an individual who can weigh the coin, look at it from different angles, and apply a good degree of sight-seen evaluation. Perhaps the piece will check out as authentic, but I do want to give you the heads up that, given what I see, this coin is at best altered and possibly a complete replica.

All my best,
Josh
Really appreciate that Josh the date does look unaltered attached an better image of date, what I find strange Josh is the other morgan dollars that were with it look and feel the same as this one ... I tested it yesterday and its definately silver and these are scans so does look different again in the light of day.... If anything I have learnt quite alot about silver dollars mint marks etc ... again thanks Josh
Attachments (1)
Hello, Nigel --